Won’t you take my hand today?

Won’t you take my hand today?
Do it the way you always do: unexpectedly but patiently, with your eyes closed and smile in place. Give it that gentle squeeze before letting it go without a word.
I know it’s easier to forget and wait for the next chance, but today I want to stay a little longer. Maybe, like the Autumn leaves on the trees, softly fall a little deeper.
But time is short and soon I’ll have to go, uncertain of my return. If only you’d ask me to stay…if only you’d ask me to wait…
I know you won’t and so I depart, hoping you will not forget my smile, my voice, my eyes, but most of all the warmth of this hand that so longingly touched yours.

Leave a Reply

