I loved you today

I loved you today.
I was tired – body and soul – but I loved you today.
My eyes were red, my mouth dry and my feet heavy, and I loved you.
After taking a long shower and letting my body fall into my bed, I loved you once again.
Minutes later, he came home and kissed my shoulder, as he so often does and I still loved you.
As I pretended to be asleep, he laid by my side and I kept on loving you.
And when my mind, finally, started to drift to a peaceful slumber, I looked at the stars and understood that I had loved you yesterday, as well…that I loved you still, today…and that I will probably love you tomorrow and the day after.

Leave a Reply

